Rutgers Excellence in Alumni Leadership Awards

The Rutgers University Alumni Association presents awards annually to recognize those alumni and other members of the university community who devote their time and talents to further the mission of the alumni association and Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.

These awards will be presented during the RUAA Alumni Leaders Conference, to be held on the New Brunswick campus this fall.

Nominate deserving individuals for the Rutgers Excellence Alumni Leadership Awards, presented each year in the fall to the most loyal and dedicated members of the Rutgers community.

Award Categories & Nomination Forms

Walter H. Seward Rutgers for Life Award
Recognizing an alumnus who has maintained a lifetime connection to the university. This award is presented in memory of Walter H. Seward, who graduated Rutgers College in 1917 and was active in the Rutgers community until he passed away at the age of 111 in 2008.

Old Queen's Tribute Award
This award, represented by the symbolic Old Queen's Bell, is the most prestigious service award presented at Rutgers. It recognizes excellence in service by one member of the alumni community who has contributed at the highest level within the university and also has represented the university within the state. Nominee is required to be an alumnus.

Scarlet Oak Meritorious Service Award
Established in 1974, this award recognizes alumni of Rutgers for their outstanding service to the university that extends beyond a specific area or volunteer role and serves as a model for all volunteers in our organization. Nominee is required to be an alumnus.

Block R Award
Recognizing service to the alumni body through volunteer involvement in chartered organizations, work with university partners (e.g. Undergraduate Admissions, Career Services), in support of Rutgers’ community initiatives, and through other specific volunteer roles. Nominee is required to be an alumnus.

Edward J. Bloustein Award
Recognizing community service outside of the university by a Rutgers alumnus or group of alumni. This award was established in 1992 in memory of the 17th president of Rutgers University.

Ernest E. McMahon Award
Recognizing an alumni event or program for creative programming excellence. This award was established in 1990 by the Rutgers Class of 1930 on the occasion of its 60th reunion. Ernest E. McMahon was a former dean of University College.

Richard P. McCormick Award
Recognizing a dean or faculty member who has performed outstanding service for the alumni association. The nominee is required to be a current or retired Rutgers dean or faculty member.

Rutgers Legacy Award
Recognizing a multi-generational family of alumni.

Rutgers Spirit Award
Recognizing an alumnus who has provided exemplary volunteer service and who has graduated within the past five years.

How to Nominate

Nominations for the 2013 Rutgers Excellence in Alumni Leadership Awards are due no later than June 1, 2013.

Nominations are accepted throughout the year online and by mail, fax, or email. Supporting documents (i.e., newspaper or magazine clippings, photos, nominee résumés, letters of recommendation) are not required, but are appreciated.

See “Award Categories & Nomination Forms” on left for the online nomination forms.

Postal Mail:
REAL Awards Program
Rutgers University Alumni Association
7 College Avenue
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Attn: Outreach Programs

Attn: Outreach Programs

Please include “REAL Awards Program” in the subject line.

Questions?  Call Outreach Programs at 848-932-2266.

Rutgers Excellence in Alumni Leadership Award Details


© Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.
For questions or comments about this site, contact